Odin’s Saga

Odin is watching my front porch for me right now.  It is one of his all time favorite spots to watch.  Sometimes he gets a little anxious about something he’s seen from his window, but every time I go to look, there is nothing there.  So the little guy has a good fantasy life (or really bad eyesight?) 

 

Just by virtue of John’s being home during the day while I was at work, Odin became more John’s cat than mine over the years.  Odin especially liked to lie on John’s newspaper, and liked to sit on his lap and watch scary movies on DVD, especially ones with lots of explosions.  He wasn’t afraid of the explosions, and seemed to enjoy the movies quite a bit.

 

Odin’s companion cat, Ra, was three years older.  Ra was a barn cat, a large tom with markings similar to Odin’s but without the agouti pattern.  Ra became increasingly ill over the past 3 years and was so sick in January that he was put to sleep.   This was very sad for John and me. 

 

Odin has been pretty quick to adapt to being an ‘only cat’ with an ‘only owner’.  I doubt he will ever be a lap cat, but he does greet me at the door, and lays on the bed at night.  He also likes to help with quilting projects.  Here you can see him helping out with the quilting of our niece River’s quilt.

 

 

Here is River’s finished quilt.  River lives in California — by a river in the mountains.

 

 

Tomorrow is the funeral for Rose’s husband Jack, and I will sing in the choir to honor him and her.  Rose is an alto and choir member of longer standing than I am, and I’ve sung with the choir for 25 years.  Jack was active with the church athletic association, a service organization for the youth of the area.  Peace be with you, Jack.  Peace be with you, Rose.